Tuesday Tips–3/24/2015

Well, I’m running a bit behind.  Last week was a great Quilt Retreat and I drove home yesterday.  So today has been catching up and will have to put my sewing space back together.  I’ve not been on the Web much, but here are some tips I found.

Sewing Machine Tip – I’ve not tried to share this before, but here is a sewing machine tip which was shared on the Inspired to Sew at Pine Needles’ Facebook Page – Where NOT to store unused thread!  (I do not know if this is viewable if you do not have a Facebook account.)

 I never thought of this being an issue, but what a mess it created!

Are you a Quilter Looking to Buy a New Sewing Machine? – Quilters Newsletter Magazine & Bernina share a video about what features you may want to look for in a new machine.

Since I do quilt many of my projects myself on my Domestic Sewing Machine, several of these features are handy to have.  Is there a feature on your machine that you ‘just can’t live without?’ I’d like to know!

Basting Your Quilts – Do you crawl on the floor to baste your quilt?  Maybe hang it up on the wall?  Spread out on the Dining Room Table?  Here is a couple of videos to help you create your quilt sandwich.

Have you tried using boards when basting your quilt sandwich? No more crawling on the floor!

Adding Borders  Carole, on her Blog “From My Carolina Home,” shares a very well documented (lots of pictures!) tutorial on how to measure your borders.

She actually does it two ways:  One way she carefully measures and adds the borders marking the middle and ends.  The second way, she calls “Slap and Sew” method which does not measure first.  She shows some interesting differences between these two methods.

The “Slap and Sew” method – the top is not measured first and the border is stitched on and then trimmed ‘to fit.’

Check out what she discovered.

That’s my Tips for this Tuesday.  I’m working on editing some pictures from the quilt retreat and will be posting them soon.

In the meantime,

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Tips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tuesday Tips–3/24/2015

  1. Carole says:

    Thank you so much for featuring my Quilt Borders Tutorial. I think if quilters understand why we need to do it a certain way, everyone will be happier with the result. Certainly the quilter, but also the longarmer that might recieve it to do the quilting. Thanks again!!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

