The Month That Was–Summary March 2015

March has been a busy month.  If you have been following my blog, you have already seen a lot of what I’ve been doing on the weekly summaries.

I promised to also post pictures of what I made while at Quilt Camp.  Shh!  Some of these are secret, so don’t tell!  (I don’t think my ‘grands’ follow my blog.)

  • Do you ever try out a pattern before actually making it with ‘good’ fabric?  Well, I want to make some Easter Baskets, but wasn’t sure what size I wanted.  So, using this pattern for a fabric basket that I shared on my blog last year, I dug out a few Fat Quarters, and made some practice baskets.

I was originally thinking I would use a 20” square to make the baskets, but since I was using Fat Quarters (18” x 22”) I opted for 16” squares for the first basket.  I used 3” triangles in making the corners and this is the result.  It is 6-1/2”x6-1/2”x4” (h).

2015-03-20 10.59.48

Cute, but using my regular poly batting it is a bit flopsy. If I were to make baskets this size, I’m thinking I would need to add some mid-weight interfacing.

My 2nd basket. I reduced my squares to 14” and the corner triangles were 2-1/2”.

2015-03-20 10.59.48

I liked this one much better and even using the poly batting, it seems to stand fairly well especially after I tacked the folded points and the interior folds. It resulted in a basket 5-1/2”x5-1/2”x3-1/2” (h).

  • Another project I made at the Quilt Retreat, was a placemat for ME!  Last year I made a set of placemats for a wedding present for my nephew and his new wife.  I really loved how they came out.  I had enough of the focus fabrics to make one more placemat and I wanted one for me.

2015-03-20 16.40.37-1

I found some suitable fabric for the Flying Geese to replace the light fabric I didn’t have enough of.  The placemat is pieced and quilted.  All I need to do now is to add the binding.

  • Before Christmas, I pieced 2 hexagon table toppers, but needed a backing.  I decided to make identical hexagons which would be usable for the rest of the year.

 2015-03-29 10.40.20

I had some suitable focus fabric, but needed to find some brown for the final borders. 

 2015-03-29 10.45.50-1

I picked this up at Webfabrics, in Purcellville, VA, on my way to Quilt Camp.

 2015-03-29 10.42.06

So now need to decide – Pillowcase or Bind?  I may even cut one to the middle and add a hole and make it a tree skirt.

  • Pillowcases – Another nephew just got engaged and his fiancé has two children – 3 year old girl and 8 year old boy.  I thought it would be nice to make them pillowcases from their new Great Aunt.

 2015-04-01 01.33.51-1

Made a travel pillowcase and a standard pillowcase for each of them.

I’m linking up with Lily’s Quilts – Fresh Sewing Days – there are a host of bloggers that are sharing what they are doing.  Hop over there and check them out!

Fresh Sewing Day

I’m also linking up with her Small Blog Meet – These are all bloggers with less than 50 followers.  Please take a moment to visit with them and comment on what they’ve done this past month.

Small Blog Meet

Spring has officially begun, but this past weekend wasn’t very spring-like.  After a couple of days of rain, the temperature stayed in the mid-30’s(F) and with the breeze/wind it felt like it was in the mid-20’s(F)!  But here is a promise that Spring will really arrive.

2015-03-22 09.46.46

Hope you had a stitch-ful March!

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Quilts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Month That Was–Summary March 2015

  1. Maureen says:

    Your Christmas hexagon table topper looks great! I love the center fabric with the snowmen and stockings, it’s so cute.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. heulwenprice says:

    Lovely to see your basket experiments and the hexagons and pillowcases, and congrats on making something for yourself! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Vicki says:

    Hi, I came here from the Small Blog Meet. I love the pillow cases you made. Such a thoughtful gesture and one that is sure to make the kids (and their mom) feel welcomed to your family!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Just Sew Sue says:

    Well done for making something for yourself. Visiting from Fresh Sewing Day

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me

