Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Vol. 11–Blog Tour, Day #5

This is it – The 5th and Final day of the Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Volume 11 Sneak Preview Blog Tour.   This issue is available online in either digital (for immediate download) or paper and in stores. 

DPQM20415222

Join me and the Quilty Pleasures Blog as we get a sneak peak of some of the blocks, find out about the designers and enjoy some give away prizes.

If you’ve been following my blog, you may have seen some of the fabrics I’ve used, but now I get to share with you the blocks!

 

 

Today’s Featured Designers:

Please follow the instructions on their posts to be entered in their giveaways.

Note: *** indicate the blocks that I tested.

My Tested Blocks –

My group tested 13 of the 100 Blocks. We randomly received patterns and didn’t know (and had no choice) as to which techniques we would be testing.  All Blocks finished to 12” square (12-1/2” unfinished).  Today I’ll share the blocks I tested from 3 of the Featured Designers.

 Keiko Clark – Block #1071 – Lovely Butterfly (Pieced)

Keiko shares some examples of how this block would look used in a quilt top.  It is a pieced block that uses simple stitch-and-flip technique and straight piecing.

2015-05-08 09.44.21

This is a cute block and would look very nice with some multi-color batiks!

MEF-Keiko-Clark-LovelyButterfly-

 

Kay Mackenzie – Block #1009 – Scroll Heart (Appliqué)

This is the 10th Block that Kay has had included in Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks!  She stitched this by hand using a combination of regular and reverse appliqué.  I wish I could have looked over her shoulder while she was doing it!

This was a bit of a challenge for me as, first, I’m just not that skilled in appliqué and, second, this is the first time I’ve done Reverse Appliqué. I used a combination of Reverse Appliqué and Fusible Appliqué methods and will still need to do some stitching, but I do like the way it turned out.  I cut the ‘scroll’ out of the red and fused it to the black fabric (so mine is raw edge rather than turned edge) and then fused the finished heart to the white background.

MEF-ScrollHeart-KayMackenzie

Sue Marsh – Block #1053 – Hippolina (Appliqué)

I shared my block yesterday since Quiltmaker had shared it on their Facebook Page.  Check out Sue’s blog post today and see what she’s done with this cute block.  Hippolina is the top-right block.  Such a happy quilt!

I’d like to share a block I did not test, which was created by one of the Featured Designers – Bonnie Hunter.  You may follow her blog or Facebook page or may have attended one of her classes.  She is a busy lady!

Bonnie does Scrappy, and I love how her block changes by the use of different colors/values of fabric.

I tested 14 Blocks for Volume 11, and I have 8 more to  share with you.  Join me on Monday when I share the rest of the blocks I made. But there are many more blocks waiting for you to check out.  Don’t forget to sign up on Quiltmaker’s Blog and the Designer’s Blogs for a chance to win prizes which include copies of this volume.

See you Monday for the Rest of the Story!

 

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in QM 100 Blocks, Quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Vol. 11–Blog Tour, Day #5

  1. Kay says:

    Your version of my Scroll Heart is amazing! Just shows you how many different ways there are to go about appliqué… and they’re all good! Thank you so much for being a block tester and for making my design look so good!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Prue Hoppin says:

    What fun to see the blocks–particularly the ones you’ve made!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Keiko says:

    Thank you so much for testing my block and sharing your tester block. It is a wonderful team work to create such an amazing magazine. I always enjoy Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks magazine! So many creative original blocks!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

