The Week (or two) That Was–5/10/2015

First, I’d like to wish Happy Mother’s Day to all my friends & family.  Hope you have a Blessed Day!!

QM20415I was busy this week writing daily blog posts revealing the Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Volume 11 blocks that I tested from October to February.  It is so hard to keep them a secret as I get excited with each one I finish!  Remember to join me tomorrow when I reveal the remaining 8 blocks that I made which were not included in Quiltmaker’s Blog Tour.

In addition to blogging about quilt blocks, I did get some other things done which I will share with you today.

Fabric Cafe

Fabric Café – I got the last two quilt tops finished and mailed off.

Cupcakes – Pattern: Nine Plus One looks yummy with this cupcake fabric!

20150429_092905

Going Dottie – Pattern: Square Dance in Yellow/Green & Dots makes a very Spring-like quilt.

2015-05-03 13.52.23

Oh, did I mention, we are finally having spring weather.  The lilac tree fills the yard with it’s fragrance, and the azaleas in our neighbor’s yard are a bit ahead of ours.

2015-05-03 13.53.59

I don’t think I had posted these two tops I made in April.

Sunshine Garden – Pattern: Topsy Turvey  in bright yellows & pinks with large flowers on the focus fabric.

2015-04-25 10.51.32

Play Ball! Pattern: Checkmate would make any little athlete happy.  It uses Baseball focus fabric with blue and white checks.

2015-04-25 10.53.21

Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks – Besides the Blog Tour for Volume 11 which is now available for purchase online and at many stores, we have now begun testing for Volume 12!

Sorry, I cannot show you the first block I tested, but here is the fabric I used!  I really liked this block.  It looks great!

2015-05-06 14.02.41

Stitching For Good – I didn’t get this posted earlier, but on May 1st we met at G Street Fabrics and had a full house working on various projects – quilts, bead bags of courage, and pillowcases.

2015-05-01 12.13.19

2015-05-01 12.13.31

And, of course, we had some ‘Show ‘n Tell’ – Beautiful Jacob’s Ladder Quilt!

2015-05-01 13.51.03

Friends & Family – I made a standard pillowcase and a travel pillow for a grand niece and grand nephew.  They both recently had a birthday.  I’m afraid these will be a bit late, but I hope to get them in the mail this week.

2015-05-10 03.08.42

2015-05-10 03.07.07

Wednesday, I spent the day in my sewing room, but didn’t sew a single stitch!  It finally was at the point I absolutely needed a day (or two) to clean & straighten.  I tried real hard to stay focused on the job at hand and not get distracted by re-discovering fabric and kits and patterns. 

2015-05-10 03.01.54

No, this is not trash.  These are bags of scraps that will be used to stuff pet beds.  I had been stuffing the bags in various nooks & crannies until I had enough to make some larger pet beds.  I guess I need to start making some.

In the Mail:  I did get some good mail this week from Fat Quarter Shop.  In December I preordered the Winter Wonderland book and it finally arrived.  It has instructions for nine quilts, two table runners and a tree skirt. Do you think it’s too early to start on some of these projects?

2015-05-10 03.31.36

Shopping: I did do a bit of shopping at my local Joann Fabric and Craft Store.  They were having a sale, plus I had a coupon from Hancock Fabrics for 20% off my entire purchase including sale items.  Did you know that Joann’s will honor competitor’s coupons?

2015-05-10 03.34.23

So I stocked up on some notions, a zipper, rick rack and pillow forms.  If you read my blog posts last week, you may be able to guess why I bought the rick rack.  According to my receipt, between the sale and coupons, I saved $7 more than I spent!

On Thursday,  I went to my Hand Quilting Group and I worked on some English Paper Piecing.  I’ve missed it the past several weeks so it was good to catch up with everyone.  And on Friday, I didn’t get any stitching done because I had a Play Date with a 16-month-old neighbor while her mother went out.  E- is such a sweetie and we had fun!  She has developed quite a vocabulary – unfortunately I didn’t always understand her “accent.” Winking smile

Hope you’ve had a productive week and that you will get some stitching done.

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Charity, Quilting, Quilts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Week (or two) That Was–5/10/2015

  1. Pingback: The Month That Was–Summary May 2015 | QuiltMouse

  2. Pretty, pretty quilts! Nice pillowcases too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

