Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 11–The Rest of the Story

Wasn’t the Blog Tour last week fun?  So many prizes were offered by Quiltmaker, Sponsors & Designers!  It was interesting reading the blogs of the Featured Designers and getting to know more about them, their designing process and how they envisioned their blocks could be used. I hope you had a chance to visit them all and found some quilty inspiration!

2015-04-23 11.10.19-1

The Blog Tour is only 5 days and there are usually 10-12 Featured Designers with links to show off their blocks.  Since there are 100 blocks in each issue, that leaves quite a few blocks still to check out!

I tested 14 blocks for this issue and only 6 made it onto the Blog Tour.  I want to share with you today the remaining.

 

Ann Weber – Block #1018 – High Flying (Pieced & Appliqué)

Let’s Go Fly A Kite! ♪ ♪  Remember that song from Mary Poppins?  I couldn’t keep that song out of my head while I made this block.  My DH thinks this may be his favorite of the ones I tested.

MEF-AnnWeber-HighFlying

Carolyn Beam – Block #1065 – Geese Go Round (Pieced)

I do not know how Carolyn finds the time to create her blocks.  This is not the first one of hers that I have tested.  She is Director of Content at Quiltmaker and Blogs and so much more.  This is another of those blocks that will change it’s appearance depending on the color/value placement. 

MEF-CarolynBeam-GeeseGoRound

Jennifer Oden – Block #1057 – Cross My Heart (Appliqué & Pieced)

The layered appliqué is centered and framed by 3 vertical pieced strips on either side.

MEF-J-Oden-CrossMyHeart

Mickey Depre – Block #1044 – Button Up (Pieced & Appliqué)

This block is mostly pieced with a little bit of appliqué in the middle.   

MEF-MickeyDepre-ButtonUp

Rebecca Silbaugh – Block #1092 – Nestling (Pieced)

Can you picture this block in a quilt?  Just picture in your head the design that would unfold when matching blocks are sewn together. 

MEF-Nestling

Yolanda Fundora – Block #1022 – Geese On Crossed Canoes (Paper Pieced/Foundation)

I really like this block and how she uses contrast in each of the corners to make it pop.  I’m wondering if I would make a quilt using only this block and no sashing, how would it turn out? 

MEF-GeeseOnCrossedCanoes-YolandaFundora

 

Carol LeMaitre – Block #1008 – Dancing Daisies (English Paper Piecing)

This is my very first attempt at English Paper Piecing.  It was definitely a challenge for me. While I love hand piecing and other kinds of hand sewing, working with the templates and lining up edges just didn’t go smoothly.  The pattern and templates were fine, it’s just my lack of experience that gave me issues.

2015-05-11 02.57.16

Basically you will NOT be seeing an entire quilt made by me using this technique!

Kelly Eisinger – Block #1045 – Oh Happy Day! (Appliqué and Pieced)

This was such a fun block to finish up the testing for Volume 11.  Again, for the appliqué, I don’t always stitch around the pieces.  So, one day I will stitch the pieces and the pattern calls for additional outline stitching with Perle Cotton – I’m thinking I will use red.  Just FYI – the white isn’t part of the block, but I used it to bring out the border strips against the corkboard. 

MEF-OhHappyDay-KellyEisinger

 

That completes the Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Volume 11 Tested Blocks Reveal!  I had fun testing these blocks and hope you saw something you may want to try.  There are many more blocks in this issue you may want to check out!

Oh, By-the-Way, we’ve started testing blocks for Volume 12.  Here’s the fabric I used for the first block I tested.  I really like this block, but you will have to wait for the Volume 12 Blog Tour to see it finished!

2015-05-06 14.02.41

Join me for my regularly scheduled Blog Posts – Tuesday Tips, Friday Finds, and The Week That Was and anything else I can think of to share!

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in QM 100 Blocks, Quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 11–The Rest of the Story

  1. knitnkwilt says:

    It must be quite a challenge, not being in control of the method for the blocks you will test. I’ve always liked crossed canoe; i love the addition of the geese, and I think it would make a great quilt if one had the patience to make all the needed blocks.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

