Tuesday Tips–5/19/2015

Welcome to Tuesday’s Tips.  Today I would like to share with you some helpful information that I’ve discovered on other blogs this past week.   

  • Cutting Bias Strips – Honestly, I’ve never cut bias strips for binding or anything else.  Is there anything other than binding you’d use bias strips for?  I’ve read instructions, but get confused.  Bite Sized Biggie (dot) com shares a video which shows an easy way of cutting bias strips.

I really think I might try cutting some bias strips after reading this post!  It really helps seeing it done in the video.

 

Note:  Several of the next Tips are from the Craftsy’s Blog.  While the main Craftsy site does require you to create a username (your email) and a password, the Blog does not.  When viewing their Blog, a dialog box may appear, but you can close it/cancel it and continue on to the Blog

Be safe!  Even a Rotary Blade that is no longer suitable for cutting fabric can do some serious injury.  When disposing of a sewing machine needle that has broken, I use some painter’s tape or duct tape to wrap the small piece to prevent it from getting lost.

While a lot of the quilts I make are infant or children size, I like her tips, especially to have as much table space as possible – behind the sewing machine, to the side and extended to the left of your chair.  Many issues are created when the weight of the quilt drags or catches on the edge of the table.

I’d like to add a few more features: 

  • A stitch regulator which helps keep the size of your stitches consistent;
  • A knee-lift for your pressure foot so you can keep your hands on the quilt.

While many of these are not ‘necessary,’ if you will be doing a lot of quilting, they will make it more enjoyable!

  • Christa Watson on her Blog, Christa Quilts, has several posts discussing Free-Motion Quilting.  I did a search for Free-Motion Quilting on her blog – Click Here to see the results.

That’s all the tips I have for today.  Now, I think I’ll head back to my sewing room and make a couple of pillowcases.

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tuesday Tips–5/19/2015

  1. Good tip on how to dispose of blades and pins.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. katyquilts says:

    Thanks for sharing these! Lots of great ideas here.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. knitnkwilt says:

    About bias tape. There are Celtic Knot designs that need it for the narrow curving pieces. (I haven’t tried any yet.) I have made bias strips, but I choose to make them individually instead of in the continuous tube. Maybe some day I’ll “graduate.” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

