The Week That Was–Sunday, 5/24/2015

 

This week has been busy.  My regularly scheduled activities were interrupted on Tuesday when I got to babysit a 20-month old neighbor because he woke with a fever and couldn’t go to daycare.  It turned out to be nothing, but you know, a little one that isn’t feeling well needs a lot of cuddling & spoiling, something I was happy to do!

Some of my time this week has been spent planning. I pulled out my Excel spreadsheet and worked on calculations, and then got on the Internet looking for fabric. It saves on gas, but isn’t the same as shopping in person.

 

Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Volume 12

Block #3 is in the machine.  One thing that is hard for me is picking out the fabric colors for a quilt and it is no easier for just a block!  I was hoping that by testing these blocks, this aspect of quilting would become easier – nope, still a struggle.  But here is what I’m working with for this block: 2015-05-23 10.48.38-1

I need one more color to finish up this block.

Family & Friends

Here are some Pillowcases I finished this week. Batman Travel Pillows for twin Grandnephews. (Can you tell the difference?) 2015-05-25 00.13.02

And a Bacon standard pillowcase for a family member that really loves her bacon! 2015-05-25 00.15.35

Cutting fabric for two quilts:  One for a boy and one for a girl.

2015-05-23 00.29.53

 2015-05-23 10.50.36

  • Shopping

Look what I found on Nancy’s Notions Website last week and I got it in the mail this week – A Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Panel.  And surprise, the panel is a full yard!  It is 36” x 44”.  Most panels these days are much smaller, maybe 23-27” x 44”.  Now looking for border fabric.

2015-05-20 10.30.27-1

There is a 3-story fabric shop I love to visit in SW Virginia.  Often when I’m looking for something specific I find that they have it.  There is one whole room filed with Novelty Fabric! 

Unfortunately, Schoolhouse Fabrics in Floyd, Virginia, is a 5-6 hour drive away.  I posted a comment on their Facebook page asking if they had a specific novelty fabric, and yes, they did! 

So, on Thursday, a quilty friend of mine was in Floyd and stopped by the store.  After a number of photo texts, and phone calls, we picked out some fabric for several projects!  I’ll get them in the mail next week!

  • In the Mail

Testing the blocks for Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks is not a ‘paid’ position, but they do show their appreciation.  In the past, we’ve gotten a mug with all 100 blocks on it. 

2015-05-19 17.01.28-1

For Volume 11, we received this canvas tote bag.  See it has pictures of all the blocks in this volume.  What a nice surprise to receive in the mail this week!  Thank you to the wonderful staff at Quiltmaker!

Well, that was my week.  Hope you got some stitching done!

Monday is Memorial Day in the United States.  This is a time that we remember & honor those that lost their lives in defense of freedom.   To quote the opening of the Presidential Proclamation dated May 22, 2015:

On Memorial Day, the United States pauses to honor the fallen heroes who died in service to our Nation.  With heavy hearts and a sense of profound gratitude, we mourn these women and men — parents, children, loved ones, comrades-in-arms, friends, and all those known and unknown — who believed so deeply in what our country could be they were willing to give their lives to protect its promise.  Our hearts ache in their absence, but their spirit gives us strength to continue their work of securing and renewing the liberties that all Americans cherish and for which these heroes gave their last full measure of devotion.

206148_487756787901762_2048177798_n[1]

.

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Week That Was–Sunday, 5/24/2015

  1. Pingback: The Month That Was–Summary May 2015 | QuiltMouse

  2. Gee … it looked like you raided my GdS’s fabric stash… I see so many that I have being put into a quilt.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tell Mel, thank you for his service!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. All of your pillowcases are so adorable and personalized to fit the person’s personality that you’re giving them to. I love the twinkies pillowcases 🙂 I have twin nieces. So happy that I could help and shop for you at Schoolhouse Fabrics! What fun to shop and spend other peoples money 🙂 Awesome canvas tote!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

