Tuesday Tips–6/9/2015

I’m running a bit behind, but I promise, I started this post on Tuesday.  Have you ever just had one of those days? KC’s bed had tool boxes and other items on top and he couldn’t go lay down on it.  So after a lot of whining and pacing, I had to move another cushion next to it so he could take his morning nap.

2015-06-09 11.43.49

  • I find that many people are intimidated by making Flying Geese Blocks. Here are links to Connecting Threads which share two tutorials for four ways of creating Flying Geese.  Try them all and find which one works best for you.

 

While you are there, check out the list Tutorials for Techniques & Blocks.

  • Appliqué – Swapping out the Background – Kay Mackenzie is a designer that has frequently had her blocks included in Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks.  As a tester, I have had the privilege to test a couple of them.  In this Blog post Kay shares step-by-step her trick for removing the background and replacing it with another fabric.

I’m still learning about Appliqué and really appreciate tutorials like this one that Kay shares.

  • Here are two more links – Heather at The Sewing Loft recently shared her experience printing on fabric with her ink jet printer.  It was so well received, she followed up with a post answering popular questions concerning printing on fabric.
  • Finally, I want to share an interesting You Tube video by Quilt in a Day. Twice as Nice Technique shows how to use the 9-1/2” Square Up Ruler to create not just one, but three different blocks from three strips pieced longwise.  I wonder if this ruler would work squaring up HST?  I may have to get me one and try it.

Well, it is now Wednesday, so I’d better get this uploaded.  Hope you find something new here.

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Tips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tuesday Tips–6/9/2015

  1. Thanks for posting such practical tips. Like you, I retired, and decided to treat quilting the way I would any other serious endeavor. Reading, research, and as little “trial and error” as possible. Doesn’t mean I don’t make mistakes, but I love how we can all learn from each other!

    Liked by 2 people

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

