The Month That Was–Summary June 2015

Summer is here.  Days are longer.  There is so much more to do and not enough hours in the day to get it all done!

  • Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks – Blocks #4 – 8 have been tested & evaluated.  We’ve been testing blocks using appliqué, paper piecing, English Paper Piecing & regular piecing.

2015-06-16 14.50.12

Some of the fabric I’ve been using includes these.

 

  • Fabric Café – We’ve been busy working on a book with eight patterns, new individual patterns to edit and tops to piece.

I made tops out of these fabrics for 4 new patterns which will be released soon.

2015-06-04 14.08.27

2015-06-04 14.07.05

2015-06-04 14.06.19

2015-06-24 11.00.37

 I’ll post some pictures next week.

  • Family & Friends – I had the joy of babysitting Miss Emma one night.  Unfortunately she went to bed shortly after I got there, but before bedtime we read some books, played with some blocks and she enjoyed the pillow I made her.

2015-06-23 13.31.19

This was a block taken from one of the patterns I’ve made for Fabric Café – Perfect Pets.

I worked on a quilt for our Grandson.  I’ve added the borders to the panel and cut the backing.  I need to assemble the sandwich and quilt it.

2015-06-03 13.10.27

 

  • In the Mail –

Here’s some one-yard cuts which will be used to make pillowcases or quilts that I bought on sale at the Old Country Store Fabrics  in PA.

2015-06-06 11.57.32

I also picked up some sale fabric from The Fat Quarter Shop.  This is a mini jelly roll (28 – 2-1/2” strips) and 2 packs of 6 – 1 yard cuts.  Pillowcases or quilts?

2015-06-29 23.52.54

I couldn’t resist this kit (and backing) for a little man I know.

2015-06-29 23.51.17 

  • Shopping – OK, not from a quilt shop, but my DH replenished my supply of Painter’s tape.  I use this to mark my rulers, and for straight-line quilting.

2015-06-05 21.45.59-1

I think it was on Facebook, I saw a hint to use this dual suction cup lifter to safely hold my acrylic rulers when rotary cutting.  My daughter stopped by Harbor Freight to pick one up for me – on sale for $6.99! It is a bit larger than the one sold for quilters, but was cheaper.

2015-06-09 17.46.53

The Row by Row Experience started Sunday, June 21st.  This is a fun shop hop that includes more shops in the US and Canada than the 1250 that participated in 2014.  It runs from 6/21 through 9/8 and has free patterns, kits, license plates, fabric & prizes.  

I had fun finding new shops last year.  I may not do as much this year as a large number of the free patterns involve appliqué and that just isn’t something I am fond of. But I will probably pick up a few.  I did stop by my LQS – Capital Quilts and picked up their free pattern and bought the kit and license plate.

2015-06-28 13.29.27-1

I also picked up a couple of yards of cute Hippo fabric.  I have a small quilt in mind that this will be perfect for the backing and pillowcase.

2015-06-29 09.56.53-1

Earlier in the month I made a run to Capital Quilts and picked up some Batiks for a Quiltmaker’s block,

 2015-06-29 23.49.17

some fusible – I’ve been doing a fair amount of appliqué lately, and a few odds and ends.  I’ve found some patterns using mesh fabric, so picked up a package to try it.

2015-06-29 23.49.52

 

  • Stitching For Good – The month started with our group of stitchers meeting at G Street Fabrics to work on various projects for Charity.

Bead Bags of Courage, Pillowcases, Rag Quilts, Pieced Quilts – we were very busy!

Well, it’s been a busy month and I feel that I did get quite a bit accomplished.  July promises to be even busier!

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Family, Hobbies, Quilting, Quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Month That Was–Summary June 2015

  1. Love fabrics in pic #2 and #3! Cute pillow for Emma and quilt for grandson. And it’s row by row time again! I still need to stitch mine from last year…

    Like

  2. Prue Hoppin says:

    So many thanks for your blog! I never read a post without getting one (or many more!) great ideas and inspirations. Always love to see fabric purchases, your current projects, and to get a glimpse of the amazing community you have around you!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

