Friday Finds–7/3/2015

I continue to find so many interesting patterns and projects on the Internet.  Sometimes I have to make myself walk away from the computer or else I’d never get any sewing done.

Today I’ve added to my list of patterns to be done one day.  Hope you find something to inspire you!

  • Star Spangled Sky Quilt – Moda Bake Shop has some great projects for the beginner, intermediate or advanced stitcher.  We are so lucky that so many talented designers are sharing their creations with us.

I like star blocks.  One day I plan on making a quilt with star blocks of all the states we have lived in over the years.

 

This calls for a couple of special notions.  I think I can manage with what I have for the triangles, but will be looking for Clover’s Carefree Curves Templates Set for the lifesavers.

  • Hexagon Flower Tutorial – Nero’s Post & Patch had a young visitor to her store and decided one day to make a brightly colored gift.

A great way to use up scraps and to have a hand-sewing project.

  • Hi-De-Ho Cheerio Free Pattern by Me & My Sister design team of Barb Groves and Mary Jacobson.  Check out the interview they gave on the Aurifil 2015 June Designers of the Month Blog post.  After reading the interview you can download the free pattern from the link at the bottom of the post.

This is a mini quilt/wall hanging and finishes 28-1/2” square.

  • Notions or Jewelry Caddy – Nancy Zieman shares some quick tutorials and hints for working with specialty ‘fabric.’ Can you call Clear Vinyl a fabric?  This would make a very nice traveling sewing kit.

Make a list of your sewing notions and adjust the size and pockets to accommodate your needs.

Continue reading and check out her instructions for a portable ironing pad.

Click here to watch her video – Sew Simple Rectangles & Squares, Part 3.

Wouldn’t these make a nice addition to a little one’s room?

Well, these projects won’t make themselves, so guess I’ll head back to my sewing machine.  How about you?  Are you getting some sewing done?

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Free Patterns, Friday Finds and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friday Finds–7/3/2015

  1. First and second quilts are beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. KerryCan says:

    The first two quilts you show are especially appealing for the 4th of July!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cagwomen says:

    Ooooo!!! I love the first one!! Thank you! And, boy, do I understand about having to walk away from the computer! LOL! Me too!!! xox

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me

