Tuesday Tips – 7/7/2015

I’ve been being kept busy, but I did get some time to check out a few blogs. One subject kept popping up, so I thought I’d share what I found about a pressure foot called – Walking Foot. 

OK – do you know what a  Walking Foot is or where a “Ditch” is on a Quilt? 

 

  • More about Walking Feet – Some machines have a built in walking foot, while others have it as an accessory.  Have you ever wondered about those little rods that came with it? This blog post shares

I think my walking foot is on my machine almost as much as the 1/4” foot I use for piecing.

Isn’t it funny, that when you see something on the Internet, you turn around, and find others are talking about it, too!

  • Are all rulers the same? – I’ve heard it said to always use the same ruler when cutting out pieces for a quilt.  Recently the American Sewing Guild’s Blog discusses this issue.  I am thinking I’d better keep a closer eye on my rulers.

Are there differences between a plastic or a fabric tape measure?  How about acrylic rulers from different manufacturers?  Can using different rulers affect the outcome of your quilt?

I have caught myself in this situation when stitching.

That’s all I’ve found this week.  I’d better get back to the sewing room.

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tuesday Tips – 7/7/2015

  1. Rod on walking foot would be handy for cross hatching!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you!! I love that tip about burying thread ends…I have such a hard time threading them through the needle, this should save me quite a bit of time 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

