September is National Sewing Month

Just a quick post. September is National Sewing Month – not to be confused with March which is National Quilting Month.

Click on the image above to go to the National Sewing Month Website for more information as well as free projects.

I’m not a math person. I know that a yard is 36” and half a yard is 18”, but after that I slow down.  How many inches is 1/8th of a yard?  The answer is 4-1/2” but to get that I’d have to pull out my calculator or pencil & paper (maybe even my fingers & toes!).

 

Have you ever stood in a LQS (Local Quilt Shop) and tried to mentally figure out what size of batting that you needed for a twin quilt?

What if a pattern calls for 1.375 yards of fabric?  Would you know how much to ask the quilt shop staff to cut? That would be 1-3/8 yards or 36” + 13-1/2” for a total of 49-1/2”.

Thanks to C&T Publishing’s Blog, you won’t need a slide rule to figure out.  (OK, does anyone reading this know what a slide rule is, let alone how to use it?)

Check out their Blog Post from September 3, 2015, for four handy-dandy, printable Quilter’s Reference cards:

      • Fractions to Decimals Conversions
      • Mattress and Pillow Sizes
      • Quilts & Batting – Typical Sizes
      • Yards to Inches Conversions

Scroll to the bottom of their Post and download a complementary PDF file.  All four cards print on one sheet.  Tuck this in your quilt shopping bag. Thank you to Barbara Cain, author of Go Big, Go Bold-Large-Scale Modern Quilts for doing the math for us.

Tomorrow will be a busy day and I hope to have some pictures to post later.

Happy stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September is National Sewing Month

  1. KerryCan says:

    Hey–I sewed something yesterday so I was celebrating Sewing Month without even realizing it!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me

