Million Pillowcase 24 Hour Sew-A-Thon

Save the date and get all your supplies together – September 18-19, 2015, for a Million Pillowcase Sew-a-thon.

Photo Courtesy of AllPeopleQuilt.com and American Patchwork & Quilting

Check with your local quilt shop or quilt guild and see if they are participating.  You can join in, virtually, just by making some pillowcases yourself – How many pillowcases can you get done in 24 hours? 

Or make it a Party!  Get together with some friends. One or two and you could have a pajama/pillowcase party!  With several people, you can assign tasks – someone irons, someone cuts fabric, someone stitches on the bands and someone stitches the French seam.

Here is the YouTube Video by All People Quilt – How to make a Roll It Up Pillowcase Part One – Pin & Stitch the Pillowcase Band

 

Click Here to go to All People Quilt’s Pillowcase Pattern Page.  They have over 51 free pillowcase patterns.  Scroll part of the way down and click on ROLL IT UP PATTERN to get the simple pillowcase pattern demonstrated in the videos.  I’ve heard this method also called the “Hot Dog” Pillowcase, or the “Burrito” Pillowcase.

There are a couple of ways to finish the pillowcases.  Some people use a serger, but I do not have one of those machines.  I prefer a French Seam.  It encloses all the raw edges and prevents fraying.   All People Quilt share a YouTube video on how to complete the Roll It Up Pillowcase and Finish with French Seam:

 

The pillowcases for charity are made to fit standard size pillows (30” x 20”).  The pattern calls for 3/8 yard for the band, and 7/8 yard for the body.  I make my bands a bit smaller. For simple calculations, I can get two pillowcase bodies from 1-1/2 yards, and 4 pillowcase bands from 1 yard. So, if you are going for quantity, you can make 4 pillowcases from 1 yard (Band) plus 3 yards (Body).

If you follow my Blog you will remember I’ve made a number of pillowcases. You can Click Here for my Tutorial to use this method to make smaller, travel-size pillowcases.

In my next post I’ll share more information on where you can donate your pillowcase, and some tips on preparing them to donate.  Until then, check your stash for some fun novelty fabrics – I like bright colors, and let’s get ready to stitch!

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Charity, Free Patterns, Sewing, Tutorial and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Million Pillowcase 24 Hour Sew-A-Thon

  1. Pingback: Who Needs Pillowcases? | QuiltMouse

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

