On Your Mark! Pillowcase Sew-A-Thon 2015

Well, it’s not a race, but we’ve got to get ready!  You with me?

First, let me tell you, I won’t be sewing pillowcases on the 18-19th.  I set aside Thursday, 9/24, stitching the pillowcases because I am busy this week.

Before getting started, we need to get some fabric.  A store in my area was having a sale, plus they had coupons which were even good on sale items.  So guess where I went?!?!

I picked up 1-1/2 yards of each of these fabrics.  That will give me 6 standard size pillowcases.

2015-09-12 15.24.40

Construction Equipment, Flowers and Woodland Creatures in the Garden.

Also, I got some fabric for the pillowcase bands.

2015-09-12 15.30.51

Some Tone-on-Tone fabric: Yellow, Brown & Gold.

2015-09-13 10.19.40

I added a bright yellow I had bought last week.

There may be some purple or pink in my stash that I might use for the bands on the flower fabric.  Plus, I’m sure I will find other fabric for pillowcases once I start rummaging through my piles!

I’m trying to decide if I want to add a small strip of trim between the band and the pillowcase body.  That will require a 2-1/2” – 3” WOF strip of complementary fabric per pillowcase (sometimes I just use black).  It isn’t necessary, but I like the way it looks.

Well, today is an errand day, so not much sewing.  When I get back, I hope to do some cleaning in my sewing room so I can “get set” to do some cutting!

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Charity, Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Your Mark! Pillowcase Sew-A-Thon 2015

  1. Pingback: Go! Let’s Sew!! Pillowcase Sew-A-Thon 2015 | QuiltMouse

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

