First Things First-Pillowcase Sew-A-Thon 2015

Morning – Day One:  I keep finding so much more fabric that would make cute pillowcases! I’m having too much fun, I think I will continue my Sew-A-Thon tomorrow.  Do you ever get distracted by fabric when working on other projects?

I like to iron my fabric before cutting.  Folded on the bolt it can be wonky or wrinkly and that can give you problems when you go to cut. While cutting Pillowcases doesn’t require the accuracy that piecing a quilt does, it still makes for better cutting.

2015-09-24 11.03.02

 Do you iron your fabric on the right side or the wrong side?  Does it matter?  I don’t really think so, but I’m just in the habit of always ironing on the wrong side.

 

Cutting: Trim the raw edges to get a straight edge.  I do not usually use the markings on my cutting mat to measure as they can eventually get a bit warped.  But this is a new mat and I double checked the markings.

2015-09-24 11.06.26

  • Fabric for the Pillowcase Body – 27” x WOF (Width of Fabric)
  • Fabric for the Pillowcase Band – 9-10” x WOF (Width of Fabric)
  •  Fabric for the Pillowcase Trim – 2-1/2 to 3” x WOF (Width of Fabric).  I don’t always use this, but it does make it look sharp!

2015-09-24 13.41.07

Auditioning Trim & Band for the Soccer Fabric.  Think I like this combo.

I don’t trim the selvages at this time.  This will be done after the band is sewn on.

Time for a Morning Snack!  How about some Yogurt & Chai Tea? Stew is smelling yummy!  I think I’ll add the green beans.

 

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Charity, Pillowcases, Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Things First-Pillowcase Sew-A-Thon 2015

  1. atkokosplace says:

    I iron first…well most of the time! 😉 You’ve reminded me that I need to sew some pillow cases too. Happy fall. Koko❀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. love that soccer fabric!! yes I iron my fabric before cutting…sometimes on the right side sometimes on the wrong side – if it’s a really light color I’ll do it from the wrong side just in case 😉

    Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

