French Seams–Pillowcase Sew-A-Thon 2015

Two more seams and this Pillowcase will be done. Some people will use a Serger to finish up the pillowcases, but I like the look of a French Seam.

Before sewing the seams I trim the selvages.  I’m sure you’ve seen that not all fabric is the same width.  It can be frustrating that some fabric can be anywhere between 42” to 45” wide.  Honestly, I’m not sure I’ve see much fabric 45” width (from selvage to selvage). And finally, I square up the Pillowcase.

2015-09-24 15.43.48

 

Now to the French Seams –

Step #1:  Fold the Pillowcase in half, Right-Side Out (Wrong Side together).  Pin, matching raw edges and the Band Seam.

2015-09-24 15.50.17

Step #2: Beginning at the top of the Band, stitch using a 1/8” seam.  When you get to the bottom edge, with the needle in the down position, pivot, and stitch the bottom edge.  Remember to back-stitch at the beginning and end.

2015-09-24 15.52.41

Step #3:  Trim the bottom corners on the diagonal to help reduce the bulk when turning the corners.  Turn the Pillowcase wrong-side out, and using a blunt object poke out the bottom 2 corners.

2015-09-24 15.58.42

Step #4:  (Optional)  Carefully iron the seam, easing it.  Sometimes, I will stitch it without ironing, but it will sew up faster if you do iron it.  I don’t use pins on this seam.

Tip:  I still use a Walking Foot for the final seam.  It will be thick in some places, especially if you added the Trim.

Step #5:  The final seam.  Beginning at the top of the Band, stitch the side and bottom seam using 1/4-3/8” seam allowance.  This will enclose the raw edge of the first seam, giving it a clean edge.  Remember to back-stitch at the beginning and end.  Sew slowly over the Band, Trim, Pillowcase seam, as this is rather thick.

2015-09-24 16.19.36

Drum Roll, Please!  Your Pillowcase is Complete!!  Stand back and admire your work, take pictures, and move onto the next one.

2015-09-24 16.26.52

It is almost dinner time.  I think I’ll preheat the oven & throw in some Frozen Pillsbury Grans Biscuits to go with the stew.

I’ll write one more post after Dinner (or do you call your evening meal Supper? Smile ).

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Charity, Pillowcases, Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

