When You Are Done – Pillowcase Sew-A-Thon 2015

I will continue making Pillowcases today and maybe Saturday since I found so much fabric!  I do have to go out and run a few errands this morning, but when I get home I’ll get back to sewing. 

The stew was very good this evening and there’s enough that I won’t have to cook tomorrow!!

But what do you do when the Pillowcases are finished?  You can read my post about Who Needs Pillowcases for some suggestions.

Two local quilt shops will receive the pillowcases I make.

2013-QuiltersQuest-CapitalQuilts

Capital Quilts, supports a number of charitable events in a program they call Capital Quilts Cares with free monthly events.  They held their latest pillowcase event on Saturday, September 19th, but they accept Pillowcases anytime.  Most of the Pillowcases collected go on to support Ryan’s Case for Smiles in our local community.

PrintsCharmingQuiltShop-11-09-13

Another Local Quilt Shop, Prints Charming, also collects pillowcases to support local charities, so I will give them some, too.

If you’ve been sewing along with me, here is what I will be doing to prepare my Pillowcases for donating.

  • Wash in Dreft laundry soap, and not using fabric softener – No fragrances.
  • Dry without a dryer sheet – No fragrance
  • Iron to give it a crisp appearance
  • Fold and put into individual quart-sized, zippered plastic bag

Sunday I will give a final count of the number of pillowcases I made in my Sew-A-Thon.

This is how I fold my Pillowcases to fit into the plastic zip bag.

  • Fold in half, matching the band to the bottom seam

2015-09-24 16.29.35

  • Fold in half again, matching the band with the first fold

2015-09-24 16.29.49

  • Fold in one side one third of the way

2015-09-24 16.30.12

  • Fold the other side in, and it will fit very nicely into a quart-size Ziploc bag, show off the Band/Trim/Body of the Pillowcase.

2015-09-24 16.33.28

This has been fun!  I hope you have enjoyed following my Sew-A-Thon, and maybe made a pillowcase or two.

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Charity, Pillowcases, Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

