Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 12–Blog Tour, Day #3

Hump-Day on the Blog Tour celebrating the release of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Volume #12! Have you ordered your copy, found it locally or are you waiting to win a copy from Quiltmaker or one of the Block Designers?

joinforblogtour12_200

I’ve been testing blocks for this twice a year magazine since Volume #7, released Summer 2013.  This has been a fun way to check out blocks made by different designers and a great way to practice a lot of techniques I may not have tried.

Each time the issue is released I enjoy blogging along with Quiltmaker and showing the blocks that I’ve tested.  So, let’s get going!

Day #3 Blog Tour Tip:  What they mean by “Tone-on-Tone” and other fabric “color” descriptions explained! Check out Quiltmaker’s explanation on today’s Blog Tour Post.

 

Bitty Blocks:

BittyBlockLogo 300px1 Quiltmakers 100 Blocks Blog Tour: Day 1

A new feature this year for the Blog Tour is a daily free “Bitty Block” which was created just for this tour.

 

Check here to scroll down and see the 4” Mini Jacob’s Ladder Block created by Greg Jones of Grey Dogwood Studio.  Don’t forget to download your free pattern!

 

Highlighted on the Blog:

  • Bali Bloom by Marian Mapes (Block #1104) (Appliqué)

Here is the block I tested. It is created with fusible appliqué. I went for a darker background.

MEF-MarianMapes-BaliBloom

  • The Pleiades by Emily Breclaw (Block #1101) (EPP/Appliqué)

I tested this block which uses EPP (English Paper Piecing)/Appliqué.  I actually made 2 versions – one using fusible appliqué and the other, I’m still working on, using EPP/Appliqué.

MEF-EmilyBreclaw-FusibleMEF-EmilyBreclaw-EPP-Partial

Today’s Featured Designers:

Please follow the instructions on their posts to be entered into their giveaways.

Note: *** indicates the blocks that I tested.

  1. Kate Colleran
  2. Greg Jones
  3. Cheryl Brown
  4. Peg Spradlin  ***
  5. Carol Steely
  6. Sue Marsh  ***
  7. Cynthia Frenette
  8. Abigail Dolinger

My Tested Blocks –

Peg Spradlin – Block #1155 – Snowbird by Design (Pieced)

Check out her blog post for today in which she shares some of her designing steps for this Southwestern flair block.  Also see the quilt she made – it is a WOW!

Here is the block I made to test this pattern.

MEF-PegSpradlin-Snowbird by Design

Sue Marsh – Block #1105 – Zen Love (Appliquéd)

See on her blog how this block looks with a 3” border or in another color.

When we test the blocks we are to verify that all the pieces are the correct size and all instructions are clear with all the techniques explained.  This block is a combination appliqué and embroidery.  It wasn’t necessary for us to actually do the embroidery so I just used a FriXion gel pen to mark where it would be and I may finish the block at a later date.

MEF-SueMarsh-ZenLove

 

Hope you’ve been enjoying the Blog Tour so far.  I know I am.  I love seeing the blocks as the Designers made them and seeing how they have used them.

Vol12-blog-tour-this-week-socialmedia

 

Happy Stitching!


Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in QM 100 Blocks, Quilting, Tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 12–Blog Tour, Day #3

  1. You did a great job on the blocks you tested!

    Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

