Pillowcase Lady Day

 

Yesterday was the Day of the Pillowcase. While enjoying another day of stitching in the beautiful Blue Ridge along with some talented, and sometimes funny ladies, I spent my time making pillowcases.

Now why in the world would I make pillowcases? It’s a simple project, but creates a token of love and remembrance. 

  • I make pillowcases for my “Grands” because they are all so special and I want them to know that I love and care for them.
  • I often make them for family and friends that may be going through a hard time, and perhaps the pillowcases and sometimes matching travel pillows will lift their spirits and help comfort them.

 

  • Another reason I make pillowcases is in support of Ryan’s Case for Smiles (former ConKerr Cancer). These cases are donated to help bring some brightness into the lives of children undergoing stressful medical circumstances. Thank you to the many local quilt shops and Arrow/Kangaroo Cabinets that help support this program touching so many lives.

Ryan's Case for Smiles

So, yesterday I completed 13 pillowcases: 3 Travel Pillow-size, and 10 standard size.

 

 

 

I haven’s decided who gets what pillowcase, but don’t worry there will be more to be made!

 

Oh, before I forget it – Next week is the Quiltmaker Blog Tour celebrating the release of Volume #13 of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks.  YAY! Now I get to share with you all the blocks that I tested this past fall/winter.  Join me and Quiltmaker as we check out some of the blocks and designers that are included in this issue.

Vol13-blog-tour-coming-socialmedia

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

 

 

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Charity, Pillowcases, Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pillowcase Lady Day

  1. You are the queen! Love the porch pic 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nativetexangirl says:

    Beautiful pillowcases! I have made some travel size and regular size for my grandchildren and love to see them using the pillowcases.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me

