MOD Bear Paw QAL–Week #2

6159c-modbear2bpawquilt2balong

This started on September 10th, with the cutting instructions, and will go through November 26th with a Link-up Party to show off our creations.

Unlike Project Linus, Gracie’s Get Well Garden, this is not a Mystery.  We not only know what the finished quilt will look like, we have been given 4 sizes to choose from:  Baby, Crib, Lap or Full size.  Several different color schemes have been demonstrated and even a scrappy option has been suggested.

I’m not sure what size mine will be when I finish.  I have enough fabric to make at least the Lap size.  Both the Crib size and Lap size have the same number of blocks, but the Lap size will have a cute pieced border.

The cutting instructions were for all the pieces necessary, but I didn’t cut all of it at once. I didn’t want to keep track of all of that cut fabric. 

Mod Bear Paw QAL-Block Fabric Cut

Here is the fabric I have cut so far.  The pieces are pinned to a piece of Styrofoam that came from some packing box. It is a nice size and I like repurposing items. I can move my cut fabric from one location to another without loosing pieces. The fabric is grouped by how much I need for a block of each piece. I have nearly enough to make about half the blocks I need.

The first block instructions were given last Saturday and we have two weeks to make our blocks until a new step is revealed.

Mod Bear Paws - Block Prep

I’m working on one block at a time. To help me, I have a printed picture of the block. To prevent getting confused, I pull off all the cut pieces necessary for one block and lay it out in the block design.

Mod Bear Paws QAL - 1 Block

I need 28 full Bear Paw Blocks, and there are a few more partial blocks.  Not sure I’ll get all done before the next step is revealed. Since I worked the quilt show last week, and I’m making the Project Linus Mystery Challenge, I’ve only gotten 4 of these blocks made so far.  Some serious stitching will be done this weekend.

Making the HST (Half-Square Triangle) blocks is slow work for me – Chain-Piecing the squares and then trimming to size.

Quick Tip: Trimming HSTs

Using the squares required (here they are 2” squares), place the two pieces right-sides together. Stitch a scant 1/4” on both sides of diagonal line drawn on one of the squares.

HST-Stitching

Cut on diagonal line, making two triangles.

HST - Cut on Diagonal Line

Using the block size (in this case 1-1/2” square), identify the markings on two sides of a square ruler and place this along the Stitch Line – not the cut edge.

HST-Trimming Diagram

Trim the two sides.

HST-Trimmed 1-1/2" Unfinished

TaDa!  A nicely squared up 1-1/2” HST.

I love this method of trimming HSTs. It only requires 2 cuts and it always comes out the right size with the stitch line nicely centered.

Try this tip sometimes and see how you like it.

 

Happy Stitching!

 

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in BOM, Quilting, Quilts, Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MOD Bear Paw QAL–Week #2

  1. This quilt is awesome. Bear Paw is my favorite.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. knitnkwilt says:

    Looks like fun. I too keep an illustration near. I’ve turned many a HST the wrong way in my sewing career.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

