Tuesday Tips–10/18/2016

This week I did a little bit of Raw Edge Fusible Appliqué and I want to share a couple of Tips.

First, when using Fusible for either large pieces or for pieces that will result in multiple layers, trim the inner Fusible before applying it to the wrong side of the fabric.  This will eliminate some excess layers which can cause the appliqué to result in thick layers. Sorry, I didn’t take any pictures.  Envision, a large circle with the middle cut out making it look like a donut.

2016-10-16 15.00.47-1

 

Second tip, I use a blanket stitch to finish the raw edges of my appliqué pieces. I adjust my stitch to be a small left stitch.  To help guide your stitching, if your sewing machine has the capability, move your needle to the far right. Using an open-toe foot, I can then guide the raw edge along the inner right side of the foot to keep the straight part of the stitch along the raw edge. (OK, clear as mud, right?)

Open-Toe Pressure Foot

Do you ever come across something on the Internet and just want to remember where you found it for later reference?  This happened to me yesterday. While waiting for a repairman, I came across these webpages with some tips.  Hope you find something helpful to you.

1.  Eight Quilting Tips:  These tips are geared toward the beginning quilter. Fabrics, Accurate 1/4” Seams, Rotary Cutters, Strip & Chain Piecing, Pressing, Mitered Binding/Beautiful Finishing Touch, Color Wheel and Quilting Lingo.

2.  67 Quilt Tips for Quilters: Ok, to be honest, some of these are more fun than tips. Even as an experienced quilter you may find something new. Number 64 – Translation – “Wadding” is another term for Batting!

3.  10 Quilting Techniques Every Quilter Should Master: This has some repeats, but it’s always good to hear it again from another point of view. It includes links for further information.  Check out the link – “How to Fix Problem Quilt Blocks” for 3 techniques to deal with blocks that aren’t quite right.

4.  Five Favorite Quilting Tips & Tricks: Check out what is said about winding multiple bobbins, chain piecing, testing your 1/4” seam, prepare & stack pieces, and maintaining your machine. Do you give your machine a regular Spa Day?

5.  How to Press Quilts to Improve Quilting Skills: Do you know the difference between Pressing & Ironing?

Last Saturday, we got Clue #6 for the Project Linus Mystery Quilt Challenge.  The quilt is called “Gracie’s Get Well Garden,” and you’ve seen the earlier blocks of Butterflies, Flowers, Watering Cans, Sun and Hearts.  So now we have Gracie!

2016-10-16 15.00.47-1

Now we have to wait until Saturday to see how her garden will be arranged.  I’ve been playing “Solitaire” with the blocks to check out possible layouts.

Gracie's Garden

Well, we’ll just have to wait to see how Gracie will arrange her garden.

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Quilts, Tips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tuesday Tips–10/18/2016

  1. Cutest owl ever! I love the buttonhole stitch. Some nickname me the “buttonhole stitch queen”. Your quilt is darling!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s a great way to use the open foot. Thanks for the tip. I’ve tried a couple of times to do machine appliqué but I wasn’t happy with the result. Your method looks much better and I should try again. The quilt blocks are beautiful. I especially love the owl block which would make a great pillow on its own I think.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love Gracie! Can’t wait to see how her garden turns out. Thanks for all the tips..I especially needed “How to Fix Problem Quilt Blocks”. My blocks often end up about an 1/8″ too small so using the freezer paper will help to get the blocks sewn accurately!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

