Mystery Quilt Challenge & Quilt Along Progress–10/28/2016

Last Saturday was Clue #7 – The Great Reveal for the Project Linus Mystery Quilt Challenge.  The previous 6 weeks gave us 6 different blocks to make. There were two blocks that only required one to be made.  The other blocks needed 2 or 3 copies, but one required us to make 9 of the same block.

 

The last count I heard was that there were 998 people registered to get the pattern.  Not sure if that means 998 quilts will be made, but that is a marvelous number of supporters!  And if we get 2 more, there will be a prize drawing!!

Our quilts do not have to be laid out the same.  But I had been playing solitaire with my blocks and didn’t come up with anything I wanted to do different.  Here is the finishing suggested by the Mystery Quilt Challenge.

Gracie -Week 7 Reveal

Isn’t this precious!! So cheery & fun. 

I’ve been only using my scraps and thought I had enough of the white fabric to finish, but found out I was 7” short.  So I spend several days fussing over what to do. This is a problem I have – over thinking.  I have a hard time visualizing how something will look made one way or another.

I finally found something that I wanted to use. So here is my finished top.

Gracie's Get Well Garden

The outer white border is a white with colored speckles.  It isn’t quite as bright a white as the rest of the white-on-white, but I think it worked well with the multi-colored patchwork border.

Corner of Gracie's Get Well Garden

And I think I’ve found the perfect backing fabric in my stash.  A few years ago I bought this fabric on sale and packed it away. Yes, it needs to be ironed!

Owl Fabric to Back Gracie

The quilt is a bit wider than the Width of Fabric (WOF), so I’m going to piece a strip down the middle to give it the added width it needs.

I have two other Quilt-Alongs (QAL), but I’ve been pretty busy with Gracie.  I haven’t done any Bear Paws this week.  This may have to wait a bit longer.

Carole’s Autumn Jubilee, at From My Carolina Home, is another short-term QAL.  The aim is to get some fall seasonal items made up.  The two blocks we’ve been working on are Leaves & Pumpkins. 

So far Mug Rug, Table Runner, and a Mini Quilt has been designed.  Today we will get a bigger project – maybe a Lap Quilt.

I’ve not made anything, just working on blocks.  I’ve been doing some digging through fabrics and cutting. I need to dig out some background fabric.

Fabric for Leaves & Pumpkins

I used some of these pieces as Leaders/Enders while stitching Gracie’s Get Well Garden. What you might call Multi-Tasking. See the beginnings of some pumpkins in the top/right corner?

I took a break from my QALs yesterday to make a Birthday Present for a neighbor.  He turns 3 years old today.  I enjoy it when I get to have a play date with him.

So I gathered up some scraps & fat quarters and some Chalk fabric and made him a travel Chalk-Cloth Placemat.

Chalk-Cloth Travel Mat

I didn’t really have a pattern.  I kind of made it up as I went along.  It is roughly based on something I saw on the Internet.  I will be posting a tutorial later.

Folded Chalk-Fabric Travel Mat

I added a couple of squares of Velcro so this could be folded for travel. Plus two pockets – one for an eraser and one for some chalk.

Pocket 1 - Pocket 2

I made the eraser out of one piece of batting and one piece of fabric. Check out the pockets on the upper/left & lower/right corners.  The eraser is peeking out.

Happy Birthday Cy

Well, I feel accomplished this week.  Today I will probably work on some pumpkins & leaves.  Then this weekend, I’ll piece the backing for Gracie. (And maybe do some laundry!)

What will you be doing?

 

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

 

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in BOM, Charity, Quilting, Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mystery Quilt Challenge & Quilt Along Progress–10/28/2016

  1. knitnkwilt says:

    The Linus Mystery quilt is adorable. And your white switch worked perfectly–looks like a planned change in the border.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your quilt is so beautiful. The colours, the design, everything 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

