Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 14–Blog Tour Days 2 & 3

The Blog Tour continues – but I’m running behind.  Yesterday was spent making a Quilted “Board” Game for our Grandson.  Actually it was a travel Tic-Tac-Toe Chalkboard.  I’ll share pictures later, but on to the Quiltmaker’s Volume 14 Blog Tour and Tested Blocks Reveal.

 Tuesday was Day #2 and Wednesday was Day #3.  I did not test any of the blocks highlighted during Day #3, but I do have 3 blocks to share from the designers featured on Day #2. So I guess I’m not quite as far behind as I thought.

 

On Tuesday, the Quilty Pleasures’ Blog highlighted 4 blocks and shared links to 8 Featured Designers who had blocks in this issue.  There are Giveaways on the main blog as well as on each of the designer’s blogs.  Check them out and enter on each blog for a copy of Volume 14 as well as fabric & other quilty prizes.

Designer: Cheryl Brickey – Block #1317  – Pinwheel Punch (Paper Piecing)

MEF-CherylBrickey-PinwheelPunchy

This is a good beginner paper-piecing block. Check out her blog – Meadow Mist Designs,for some samples of different color combinations – Candy Corn & Candy Cane are my favorites!

Designer: Emily Bailey – Block #1360  – Storm Warning (Pieced)

2016-08-28 15.45.52-1

This is a fun pieced block which gives a great platform to play with colors & scraps. Her blog – Em’s Scrapbag. shares a number of variations.  It always amazes me how the same block made in various colors can look totally different.

Designer: Melva Nolan – Block #1310  – To Have and To Hold (Pieced & Appliqué)

2016-08-24 15.20.03-1

Melva shares some of her design process – those that worked and those that didn’t.  I did fusible applique and have not stitched it yet because I didn’t have any thread I wanted to use and I just wasn’t sure how I wanted it done.  Now that I’ve seen how Melva did hers I will probably do something similar.

As these three blocks show, the Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks include a variety of techniques.  You are sure to find a number of blocks to do.  You might even find one using a technique you’ve been wanting to try.  The instructions are easy to follow.

We’ll be out & about today and will be spending some time with friends we’ve not seen in a while.  I’ll catch up with the Blog Tour when I get a free minute.

 

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

 

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in QM 100 Blocks, Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 14–Blog Tour Days 2 & 3

  1. Good job.. Sure was nice to “spend some time with friends we’ve not seen in a while.” We thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me

