Retreatcation Day 3

Day 3 of Spring Retreat in the Blue Ridge Mountains is normally a full day of sewing, relaxing & enjoying beautifully prepared meals. Later in the day we usually have show & tell. I’ll have to enjoy that part virtually when projects are posted on Facebook.

At home, my Retreatcation – an At Home Retreat was a later start with some Earl Gray Tea while reviewing my meal notes & checking my emails followed by making breakfast before the sewing got started.

Ok. The one thing that does NOT happen at the Spring Quilt Retreat in the Blue Ridge Mountains is folding laundry! Daughter did the laundry. But I folded it!

Spring 2023 Project – Fall 2022 UFO – QOV 2022 Mystery QAL Long May She Wave

One reason for the laundry was I cover my ironing board with a double layer of muslin and I used a lot of Mary Ellen’s Best Spray recently. The muslin keeps my cover from getting messed up, but does require washing occasionally.

My hubby made a rectangle ironing board to sit on top of some shelves in my sewing room. It gives me space for storage underneath and a large ironing area.

The plan for Day 3 was do what was originally planned for Day 2 – to start by ironing what was stitched Thursday, followed by a bit of cutting and then sewing.

Need 18 White Stars with Red Background

We had a thunderstorm this afternoon with heavy rain. I had to take a break. I don’t like ironing & sewing with lightning and it got so dark it was hard to even cut. But am pleased with my progress.

8 out of 18 White Stars on Red Background.

Just before lunch, I got onto a Facebook video chat with the ladies attending the “real” retreat. It was fun to visit with them all!

RetreatcationAt Home Quilting Retreat – Meals

More leftovers re-made for an Overnight Egg & Sausage Breakfast Casserole. I had planned on making Blueberry Muffins from a mix but I found mini Blueberry Muffins when I made the the emergency run to the store and “cheated”. Breakfast was completed with fresh fruit .

Since the oven was on, I made 6 Bisquick Shortcakes to go with Strawberries at dinner. I love my cast iron!

Dinner was some Pork Roast I had frozen the last time I made it, with Yellow Rice, Broccoli & Applesauce. The Strawberry Shortcakes were eaten before pictures could be taken! Lol!

Retreatcation Day #3 Dinner

Ended the day with some Chai Tea.

Will only have a half day of sewing on Sunday as we will be spending the afternoon with 2 young men (9 & 5 years old). The ladies at the Mountain Quilt Retreat will be packing up Sunday afternoon & heading home, and the Spring 2023 Quilt Retreat will be in the books.

Hope you are finding some time to stitch!

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Food, QAL, QOV, Quilting, Quilts, Retreats, UFOs. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Retreatcation Day 3

  1. So great to make the most of your at-home retreat!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.