Tip Tuesdays- 3/18/2014

Tips found on the Internet –

Choosing BattingAnnie’s Crafts shares thoughts on choosing batting.  Did you know some batting requires your quilting be as close as 2” apart, while others can be quilted as much as 10-12” apart?  Some shrink more than others. You may also want to read more on Quilter’s Dream blog about the features & uses for their various batting.  See their User Guide on their website. Our Quilting for Good group uses Quilter’s Dream Poly-Request Loft for the baby quilts we make for Mary’s Center’s Clients.

image

 

Cleaning your Iron – Rene’ of Bargain Hoot Blog had a guest blogger, Heather, who is the owner of a small cleaning business. Heather shared a DIY hint for cleaning your iron using natural ingredients you already have in your house.  But I do not recommend using your iron for what she did which resulted in it needing to be cleaned – it didn’t work anyway.  What’s the oddest thing you did with your iron?

 

Moda Bake Shop Blog shares a tip for storing your Works In Progress (W.I.P.) and it may surprise you what it is!  Think I will try and find me some of these boxes. Don’t know about you, but I have a few W.I.P and can always use help keeping the pieces together.

Which Sewing Machine Needles do you use? Lynne of Lilly’s Quilts Blog share what she’s learned about sewing machine needles.

2014-03-18 14.41.34-2

My Needle Tip – I have a small ‘tomato’ pin cushion that I keep by my sewing machine.  I use it to keep track of sewing machine needles when I switch, but don’t need to throw them away yet.  I used a fabric marking pen and labeled each ‘wedge’ with the needle’s size and store the needle in the wedge for that size until I need to use it again.

Do you have a tip or a hint or something you find useful?  Leave me a comment and I’ll share it on another “Tip Tuesday.”

Happy Stitching!

 

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tip Tuesdays- 3/18/2014

  1. trkingmomoe says:

    I like your tip on the needle tomato. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.