Tuesday Tips–1/20/2015

Whether you’ve been stitching for years or are a newbie, it is always interesting to see what other people post as tips.  Sometimes I find myself saying “why didn’t I think of that” or “oh my, I forgot that!”

I did a lot of stitching this past week and didn’t browse the Internet too much.  But here are a few Tips that I saw.

  • Here are 5 Quilting Tips by Diane Harris of Quiltmaker Magazine.  Listen to these Tips and find out how remembering “TNT” may help you when sewing.

  • Do you make Fabric Yo-Yos?
    • I have tried making a couple, but haven’t been happy with the results.  Here is a Tutorial for making Fabric Yo-Yos which I’m hoping will help me be more successful.

  • Have you ever been asked to make a quilt for someone and been asked “how much would you charge?” 
    • Sew Mama Sew shares some thoughts about how to place a value on your quilts. You might be surprised at the value of a simple charm-square baby quilt!

 

  • If you have an Android Smart Phone – there is a free APP for that.  [Note:  I have a Smart Phone which runs Android.  I do not know about iPhone Apps, but you could check out to see if something is available for the iPhone.] It is called Crafts Calculator and you add in the cost of materials plus the time spent, and you identify your skill as Novice/Competent/Expert and how much profit you are looking for (10% or more) and it will calculate what you should charge.

So, if your supplies were $75 (baby or lap/throw size quilt), and you spent 8 hours piecing and 8 hours quilting/binding and you consider yourself a competent quilter and want 10% profit, then you should sell your completed quilt for $302.

Do you have any tips?  I’d love to hear them.

 

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

