Tuesday Tips–03/17/2015

No matter how many years I’ve been sewing, I discover that I can always learn something new.  Today I’m sharing a few tips that I’ve found on the Web.

I’m going to practice some Flying Geese this week!

  • Keeping U N Stitches Quilting shares tips to avoid skipping stitches when sewing over very thick seams – 3 Very Quick Videos

I know my machine came with some plastic spacers, but never really knew how to use it.  Good to know!

  • Interfacing – Do you use Interfacing? – Do you know what Interfacing is and when it should be used?  Here is a good article to know what to use when.

I’ve used interfacing for some bags that I’ve made, but I’ve not experimented with a lot of different types.

  • Thread – What do you know about it?  In this blog post, four different weights are compared and you may be surprised by how the thread’s weight can affect the size of your blocks when piecing.

Do you have a favorite thread or do you just pick up whatever is in the sale bin?  Did you know the higher the number, the ‘fatter’ the thread?  And if you have fat thread, you should use a needle with a larger eye to enable it to slide through it more easily.

Hope you find these tips useful.

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.