Tuesday Tips–04/07/2015

Today’s tips is a collection of links to You Tube videos and blog posts.  I have found out that I’m a visual learner – it is so much easier if I can see the instruction, at least in pictures, rather than just reading words.  And a video is a great learning tool!

 

  • Tube Block Method – Thanks to Missouri Star Quilting for this You Tube video of how to create a quilt block using a fabric tube and a regular ruler.  The primary block created is a Double Hourglass set on Point.  This uses only three WOF (Width of Fabric) strips and a ruler with a 45-degree angle line.

This is so cute!! I can’t wait to try this for myself.  At the end of the video they show that you can create several different blocks by rotating the squares.

  • Quarter-Inch Seam Allowance

I find that this is something I frequently have to check to see if I’m doing it right, especially in a block that has lots of little pieces. 

It is interesting to see the difference between two identical blocks – one sewn with a 1/4” seam allowance and the other with a Scant 1/4” seam allowance.

    • Perfect Seam Allowance – Judy Martin shares a video about how to test your seam allowance and how to perfect it.

I find myself often doing this whenever I start a new project.

    • Scant Quarter Inch – my friend Donna, from Fabric Café, recently shared a couple of slides from one of her presentations which discusses the Scant Quarter Inch seam. 

It begins with an interesting question – Does it REALLY Matter?  And the answer is Yes & No – sometimes it does and sometimes it doesn’t.

Hope you find these tips helpful!

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Tips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.