March 2014 Summary

The month started out with our 25th snow event of the Winter (that won’t stop!).  As far as snow was concerned, it wasn’t significant – maybe 5 inches – but it began with 12 hours of rain, sleet & winter mix that could have been a lot more snow.  Cold temps continued lower than average. And you can guess how the month ended – Yes!  More Snow.  We had a heavy rain on the 29th and on the 30th it changed to Snow – another 2 inches!!

Quilting For Good – I’m guessing everyone had a bit of “Cabin Fever” as we had a full house.  Eighteen ladies spent the day cutting, ironing, piecing, sandwiching, quilting, binding and sewing on labels. You can read all about it on my post here.

2014-03-07 13.56.26

These 14 quilts were either brought in or finished, and were added to our Shower Inventory. 

Fabric Café – February ended and March began with the Mid Atlantic Quilt Festival in Hampton, VA.  I worked in the Fabric Café booth a couple of days.

2014-02-27 18.52.56

Quiltmaker – Block testing for the May issue of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Volume 9 has officially ended.  I can’t wait to show the blocks I made.  The Blog Tour will be the end of April, so we’ll just have to wait a bit longer.

Year of Machine Quilting (Sponsored by Quiltmaker Magazine) – I’ve been studying a lot of videos, and done a little bit of practicing.

Block of the Month – I’m a bit behind. 

Fat Quarter Shop – Wishes Quilt Along  I’ve got March & April Wishes Quilt Along Blocks cut and hope to get them sewn this week.

Quilter’s Newsletter’s BOM – Ooh-Rah!!I was behind on this one, so the first week of March I worked to catch up. I’m doing two versions, one with Batiks & one with plain cotton quilting fabric.  So I did one January block (regular tone-on-tone Quilting fabric):

2014-03-15 14.05.38

And the two February Blocks (Batiks/right, other fabric/left):

2014-03-15 14.06.212014-03-15 14.06.58

QN Block for March contains Y-Seams. Each Block has 20, so that means I need to stitch 40 Y-Seams – UGH!!  I’ve done 4 so far.  This block make take me a couple of months!! (There are four of these segments in each block.)

2014-03-22 12.35.41

Thursday Hand Quilting Group – Working on taxes kept me from attending once, but did join in a couple of times. Great group of ladies and super support for our hand quilting projects.

Travels – No travel this month.

I’ve joined two Blog Link-ups at Lilly’s Quilts.  Pop over and check out what other Bloggers did in March

Lily's Quilts

and then click on links to some Small Bloggers and see what they are up to.

Lily's Quilts

 

Happy Stitching!

 

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in BOM, Charity, Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to March 2014 Summary

  1. msminnesota says:

    Holy cow, you’ve been busy!

    Like

  2. KerryCan says:

    My goodness, you’re so productive! Lots of beautiful things coming out of your sewing room–I like seeing the comparison of two blocks, done with different fabrics.

    Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

