Quilt Along Progress–10/15/2016

I’ve been keeping busy. In addition to Project Linus’ Gracie’s Get Well Garden Mystery Quilt Challenge, I am following two other Quilt Alongs.

I’ve shared a button on the right for one of the other Quilt Alongs.  It isn’t a mystery.  We already know the pattern, and we have a choice of which size we will be making.

 

Sew Fresh Quilts is sharing their MOD Bear Paws pattern.  It uses the traditional Bear Paws Block but adds the cute bear walking at the bottom.  In addition, I like the paw prints ‘walking’ around the borders for the Lap & Full-size quilts.

There are a lot of Bear Paws to make, and I’m behind. I need 28 full blocks of Bear Paws. Lots of small pieces and trimming of HSTs.  I work on some and then take a break.

Bear Paws - Pieces 

Two weeks ago, we got the instructions for the large bear.  This is as far as I’ve gotten.

Large Bear Blocks

I really like my Styrofoam Project Boards (another way of saying I recycled this from a package).

Unfortunately with the Holidays coming and a number of Birthdays in the next several months, I probably will stay behind.

Today we’ll be getting sashing instructions. Oh well, I’ll just work at my own pace!

I’m also following Carole’s Blog – From My Carolina Home.  She is celebrating Fall with an Autumn Jubilee – 2016.  She began a week ago – on Friday, 10/07/2016 – with a leaf block. The idea is to make as many as you want to or can do, and there will still be projects you can make.

Four Leaves

I’ve gotten 4 yellow leaves done and several others cut.  Funny. I just laid these four this way to take the picture, but Carole commented that this was the layout she used for her Moda Bake Shop Maple Star Wallhanging/Table Topper. Go Check it out – It’s a free pattern with a printer friendly PDF of the instructions.

Then yesterday, on Friday, 10/14/2016, she added a Pumpkin Block and gave two projects made with both blocks.

Leave & Pumpkin Blocks

Use one of each block, add sashing & borders and make a Mug Rug. I have to find some fall fabric for the sashing & borders, but you get the idea.

2016-10-14 15.06.36

Use 3 Leaf Blocks and 1 Pumpkin Block with or without Borders for a Mini Quilt. I need to make some different color leaves so I can have some variety.

Check out her blog post for a cute tip for the pumpkin, and how her finished projects look.

I like how she is running this.  You can do as much or as little as you want to and there are still projects to be made. To make all the projects she has planned I will need 24 Leaf Blocks and 9 Pumpkin Blocks. And I’m using up more scraps! YAY!!

Well, it’s Saturday, so Clue #6 for Gracie’s Get Well Garden and the next step for the MOD Bear Paws quilt will be released.  Can’t wait!

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in BOM, Free Patterns, Quilting, Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Quilt Along Progress–10/15/2016

  1. Thank you for the mention and link back! Your projects are looking great!

    Liked by 2 people

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.